What can you Makey-Makey?

My district gave me the opportunity to attend a virtual four week course on the Makey-Makey technology. Makey-Makey is a STEM tool that “mimics a keyboard and mouse and lets you control any computer program with everyday objects.” By attaching the clips to an object and the switch, everyday objects turn into buttons of fun!

In addition to the online class, we were provided with a Makey-Makey Classic Kit and materials such as play-doh, aluminum foil, pencils, and more. This was such a fun and exciting experience for me and one that I wish could have taken place in person. I learned so much about technology and how a Makey-Makey can be used for so many different things!

We were challenged to create something that could be used in our classrooms. I am a 4K teacher, and spend a lot of my year teaching letters and letter sounds. I chose to create a switch that students could push a letter and it would read them the letter, letter sound, and picture. This could be used in my literacy center when students are reading our class alphabet book independently or with their peers. We read through this book as a Google Slideshow each week to practice our alphabet knowledge so it is a familiar process. Here is a video of my creation!

Technology is a wonderful tool for our students, but it is important that the technology not interfere or disrupt student learning. In order to determine this, I used the Replacement, Amplification, and Transformation (R.A.T.) Model. This model is an “assessment framework for understanding technology’s role in teaching, learning, and curricular practices” (Hughes, 2019, R.A.T. Model). Technology as replacement refers to the technology as “serving a different (digital) means to the same instructional practices” (Hughes, 2019, R.A.T. Model). In the example of my creation, students will now be able to go through the alphabet book without their teacher when they forget a letter, letter sound, or the accompanying picture. The Makey-Makey has replaced the need for a teacher to be present allowing for independence. Technology as amplification “increases efficiency, effectiveness, and productivity” (Hughes, 2019, R.A.T. Model). Students will now be able to effectively go through all of the letters of the alphabet instead of only the letters that they know by heart. Finally, technology as transformation “invents new instruction, learning, or curricula” (Hughes, 2019, R.A.T. Model). Students can create new pictures to accompany the letters and letter sounds and with teacher assistance rerecord to make the buttons align with their newly created alphabet book.

After reviewing the RAT Model, it is clear to me that Makey-Makey’s are both fun and instructional tools for students. This blogpost by Colleen Graves provides lesson ideas and classroom applications for Makey-Makey. The blogpost contains many helpful links, tips, and strategies. I also found an incredible blogpost by The Techie Teacher, Julie Smith. This post shares lessons as well as pictures and videos of students and teachers using the Makey-Makey. Smith gives a brief introduction video about setting up the Makey-Makey for the first time as well. At the bottom of the post, there are links to projects that she has done and links to projects that other teachers have done. These links open up to videos, pictures, and instructions on how to duplicate the lesson in your classroom. The Makey-Makey website also has a blog, how-to pages, and educator resources.

Makey-Makey is a wonderful technology tool to add to your classroom and instruction. The imagination, creativity, and learning that can result will be magical! So, what will you Makey-Makey?

Resources

Hughes, J.E. (2019). Replacement, amplification, and transformation: The R.A.T. Model. https://web.archive.org/web/20190612101737/https://techedges.org/r-a-t-model/

Cassie Kemmerlin

Module 5/6

2 thoughts on “What can you Makey-Makey?

  1. Thank you for sharing your knowledge about Makey-Makey!! Our school district has a set, but I’ve never received any formal training on how to use them. I have seen other teachers use the kits, though, and have much success! The links that you included in your blog post helped me to have a better understanding of how I can use them in my 6th grade ELA class.

    Like

  2. Cassie,
    I am so glad that you shared information about Makey-Makeys! I am trying to work a makerspace into our school library and this is a piece of technology that I had heard a lot about, but haven’t had the opportunity to use myself. As a hands-on learner, I have been hesitant to purchase any because I was unsure what exactly I would use them for. I had gotten wrapped up in the school year and they were on the back burner, but your post reignited my interest and gave me some great resources and links to get started with. Thank you for sharing!

    ~Josie Price

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started